Thursday October 22, 2020
Jason Doyle made it a straight hat-trick of Peter Craven Memorial Trophy titles at Belle Vue on Thursday on a night when Rory Schlein finished fifth.

The meeting culminated in two extra-sized heats with a five man Last Chance Heat offering three places in a six-man strong Grand Final to which the top three qualifiers had automatically been seeded.

Doyle (14), Sam Masters (12) and Brady Kurtz (12) were the direct movers whilst British U21 champion Dan Bewley (10), Lewis Kerr (10), British Champion Schlein (9), Steve Worrall (8) and Richard Lawson (7) contested the repecharge with Lawson joining the two National Champions as the three riders who booked their chances to lift the title.

But having won the title in both 2018 and 2019 late call-up Jason Doyle was in no mood to allow another name to be inscribed on the trophy as he led Bewley home from Kurtz, Lawson, then Schlein and Masters, the latter only for the second ride in six not to have secured a victory.

The evening, produced plenty of good racing and apart from it having to be played out behind closed doors, provided an entertaining way to bring the curtain down on a British season blighted through the effects and restrictions of the global coronavirus pandemic.

Scores from Qualifying Heats
14 J.Doyle (3,3,2,3,3)*
12 S.Masters (3,3,3,0,3)*, B.Kurtz (3,1,3,3,2)*
10 D.Bewley (3,1,2,1,3)^, L.Kerr (2,1,2,2,3)^
9 R.Schlein (2,3,0,2,2)^
8 S.Worrall (2,0,3,3,0)^
7 R.Lawson (1,2,0,3,1)^, K.Howarth (1,2,1,2,1)
6 J.Crump (0,0,3,1,2), D.Kemp (0,3,1,1,1), C.Harris (2,0,2,2,0), J.Etheridge (0,2,1,1,2)
5 T.Batchelor (1,2,1,0,1)
1 J.Palin (0,1,0,0,0), R.Worrall (1,0,0,0,0)

* - Riders seeded direct to 6 man final
^ - Riders qualify for Last Chance heat (first three proceed to final)

Last Chance Heat Result: D.Bewley, R.Schlein, R.Lawson, L.Kerr, S.Worrall
Final: J.Doyle, D.Bewley, B.Kurtz, R.Lawson, R.Schlein, S.Masters

Picture: Taylor Lanning

Share This:   Facebook Twitter