Friday September 20, 2019
A weekend of titles begins tonight, Friday, at the Oak Tree arena when the cream of the SGB Championship battle for the honours of being crowned the league's Best Pair

Then on Saturday the British GP takes place at the Principality Stadium, Cardiff in what this year will be the penultimate round of the series before the weekend concludes with National League Riders Championship at Leicester, a meeting in which Rebels Anders Rowe and Nathan Stoneman lines up in.

But all eyes will be on the fortunes of Nick Morris and Rory Schlein who are targeting that Best Pairs title, last won by a Rebels combination back in 2016. That was three years ago and Rebels' fans will be hopeful that the rule of three applies again, as that 2016 success came three years after the club's first ever Pairs triumph in 2013.

Club owner Debbie Hancock said "I am really looking forward to this meeting. It is a lot later in the year than we are used to but the weather looks set to behave itself and so hopefully we can have a good turnout with fans from all the Championship clubs, together with the other leagues too, backing their favourites for what promises to be a good meeting.
If you look at the field then there are strong cases to be made for a lot of the clubs, but I have faith in Rory and Nick to do the business. I know that Nick will be hoping for better luck this time around than that he suffered in the 2014 final, and we do seem to have to wait three years between successes in this competition. I hope that is an omen!"

Sheffield however will be looking for a different rule of three, having won the title back-to-back in 2017 and 2018 so triumph at the Oak Tree would make it three in a row. Since the competition was first launched, back in 1997 only Workington have won the title three years on the bounce, Carl Stonehewer winning it for the Comets in 1999 with Brent Werner, 2000 (Mick Powell) and 2001 (Peter I Karlsson), and if the Sheffield Tigers were to pull that feat off this year it would be a hat-trick of honours for Kyle Howarth.

This year's event will see 22 heats of qualifying, with each club riding four heats, with the top four pairs progressing to the semi-finals, the winners of which will contest the Grand Final which means 25 heats of racing. Turnstiles will open at 5pm with the meeting getting underway at 7pm, and the admission prices have been set at

Adults: £20.00
Concessions: £15.00
Junior (5-15): £5.00
Children (Under 5s): FREE

BERWICK: Tomas H Jonasson, Jye Etheridge; BIRMINGHAM: Adam Ellis, Tero Aarnio; EASTBOURNE: Richard Lawson, Lewis Kerr; EDINBURGH: Sam Masters, Cameron Heeps; GLASGOW: Craig Cook, Rasmus Jensen; LEICESTER: Scott Nicholls, Ryan Douglas; NEWCASTLE: Steve Worrall, Lasse Bjerre; REDCAR: Erik Riss, Jordan Stewart; SCUNTHORPE: Ben Barker, Jake Allen; SHEFFIELD: Danny King, Kyle Howarth; SOMERSET: Rory Schlein, Nick Morris.

Roll Of Honour
2018 Sheffield (K.Howarth/C.Wright)
2017 Sheffield (K.Howarth/L.Bjerre)
2016 SOMERSET (J.Grajczonek/R.Tungate)
2015 Ipswich (D.King/R.Tungate)
2014 Edinburgh (M.Fricke/S.Masters)
2013 SOMERSET (J.Doyle/J.Grajczonek)
2012 Workington (A.Roynon/R.Bach)
2011 Glasgow (J.Screen/J.Grieves)
2010 Sheffield (R.Ashworth/J.Auty)
2009 Birmingham (J.Lyons/T.Piszcz)
2008 Workington (D.Nermark/K.Nieminen)
2007 Isle of Wight (C.Holder/J.Bunyan)
2006 Glasgow (S.Parker/D.Bird)
2005 Glasgow (S.Parker/G.Stancl)
2004 Reading (P.Morris/D.Bird)
2003 Workington (C.Stonehewer/S.Stead)
2002 Isle of Wight (A.Shields/D.Bird)
2001 Workington (C.Stonehewer/P.I.Karlsson)
2000 Workington (C.Stonehewer/M.Powell)
1999 Workington (C.Stonehwer/B.Werner)
1998 Peterborough (G.Cunningham/B.Werner)
1997 Long Eaton (C.Stonehewer/M.Dixon)

Share This:   Facebook Twitter