Tuesday September 10, 2019
The 22 riders competing in the SGB Championship Pairs event at the Oaktree Arena on Friday 20th September have now been revealed.

Representing the stating club will Rory Schlein and Nick Morris with team manager Garry May admitting "I was spoilt for choice in trying to decide which pair to put out but in the end I decided to go for Rory and Nick, in favour of Chris (Harris). Any combination of those three would have been strong, I know that and in the end I just thought that with Bomber being involved in the British GP, I know he's only reserve, it might be a bit of a distraction for him, whilst Nick and Rory are probably the in-form two. When I broke the news to Chris I could tell that he was a quite disappointed not to have been chosen and I guess that sums the guy up completely. He wanted to be in with a chance of bringing success to the club."

Up against Schlein and Morris will be a strong field that includes a number of Oak Tree Arena big scorers. Defending champions Sheffield, seeking a hat-trick of titles have named Danny King and Kyle Howarth whilst Glasgow have the strong combination of Craig Cook and Rasmus Jensen. Edinburgh's pairing have both been former Somerset riders - Sam Masters and Cameron Heeps, as to have Eastbourne's representatives Richard Lawson and Lewis Kerr.

Redcar, are without British Champion Charles Wright, because he was awarded the wildcard for the British GP which takes place the following day but nevertheless have a powerful pair in the Championship Riders' winner Erik Riss and Michael Palm-Toft.

All eleven championship clubs are involved in the event which will see the field split into two groups with the winners and runners-up from each group contesting two semi-finals, the winners of whom compete for the title of Best Pairs.

BERWICK: Tomas H Jonasson, Jye Etheridge.

BIRMINGHAM: Adam Ellis, Tero Aarnio.

EASTBOURNE: Richard Lawson, Lewis Kerr.

EDINBURGH: Sam Masters, Cameron Heeps.

GLASGOW: Craig Cook, Rasmus Jensen.

LEICESTER: Scott Nicholls, Ryan Douglas.

NEWCASTLE: Steve Worrall, Thomas Jorgensen.

REDCAR: Erik Riss, Michael Palm Toft.

SCUNTHORPE: Ben Barker, Jake Allen.

SHEFFIELD: Danny King, Kyle Howarth.

SOMERSET: Rory Schlein, Nick Morris

Share This:   Facebook Twitter