Sunday June 09, 2019
Racing returns to the Oaktree Arena on Wednesday night for the first time since May 22nd but it will be a Somerset Select side that takes the focus, as the Rebels do battle against west-country rivals Plymouth in a challenge fixture.

Of the regular Championship team, just Todd Kurtz, Anders Rowe and back-from-injury Henry Atkins will feature for the Rebels as team manager Garry May offers up trials to Nicolas Vicentin and Zack Cook who will be making rare appearances on British shores.

19 year old Cook is in the UK from his native Australia in preparation for the U21 World Cup event at Manchester next month whilst Italian Vicentin is a recommendation from Rebels' South American star Nico Covatti. Completing the Rebels septet for the meeting against the Gladiators will be Cradley's Luke Harris and Devonshire based Saul Bulley, who like both Kurtz and Atkins will be racing against his former club.

Team manager Garry May is delighted to have the chance to hand over the stage to some lesser known stars and admits that he will be taking a keen interest in how the 'new' faces take to the Oaktree. "It is always important in this sport to have options open to you and opportunities to see new talent are not presented too often, so I am grateful to the Plymouth management in agreeing to this fixture and we can see how some of these riders adapt to the stage. The timing is also good for Henry as it will give him the chance to test his shoulder and fitness out without the added pressure of league points."

Plymouth themselves have drafted in a couple of different riders to their current team with Cornishman Ben Barker taking up the number one position and Danny Ayres joining in too. Ben Wilson, Richard Andrews and James Bursill join the two Adams, Extance and Sheppard for the Gladiators.

Admission prices for all sixteen and overs is just £10 with under sixteens admitted Free.

SOMERSET: 1 Todd Kurtz (Capt) 2 Nicolas Vicentin 3 Anders Rowe 4 Luke Harris 5 Henry Atkins 6 Zack Cook 7 Saul Bulley

PLYMOUTH: 1 Ben Barker 2 Adam Extance 3 Ben Wilson 4 Richard Andrews (Capt) 5 Danny Ayres 6 Jamie Bursill 7 Adam Sheppard

Share This:   Facebook Twitter